Birmingham Chapter History

Founding Date: 1989


Chapter Founder: Thomas Wilder and Andre Taylor


Past Presidents


Ron Edwards 1989-1990 (Alagasco)

Iva Williams 1990-1991 (APC)

Larry Holmes 1992-1993 (APC)

Travis Brooks 1994-1995 (APC)

Kristen Bush 1996-1997 (APC)

John Hudson 1998-1999 (APC)

Sylvester Lavender 2000-2001 (SoNaturalGas)

Alisa Summerville 2002-2003 (APC)

Corlene Williams 2004-2005 (SoNaturalGas)

Alice Gordon 2006-2007 (APC)

Jonathan Porter 2008-2009 (APC)

Torrey Leonard 2010-2012 (ELPASO/SNG)



Chapter of the Year Awards


Outstanding Chapter of the Year 2005

Outstanding Chapter of the Year 2006

Outstanding Chapter of the Year 2007

Outstanding Chapter of the Year 2008


AABE Directors Elected to the National Board of Directors


Robert Holmes (Alabama Power Company) 2004 to 2010

L. Corlene Williams (Elpaso Corp./Southern Natural Gas) 2006 to present


Facts about the Chapter


*     Southeast Regional Coordinator and Past President Corlene Williams received the first national AABE Image Award for Leadership


*     Established an Endowment Foundation in 2006 to award additional



*     Donated funds to help 26 AABE members impacted by Hurricane

Katrina in 2006.


Terms of Use   |   © Copyright 2018 American Association of Blacks in Energy. Site by Filnet.