Chapter History

Founding Date:  September 16, 2000 

Founder: Berdell Knowles, JEA (fr. Jacksonville Electric Authority) view biography

Average Membership Size: 67 

Chapter Presidents:

2000-05, Berdell Knowles (GRU and JEA)

2005-06, Darryl Scott (TECO)

2007-08, Gregory Owens (JEA)

2009-12, Malcolm Barnes (Duke Energy, Formerly Progress Energy)

2013-16, Andrea Pelt (NextEra Energy/FPL)

2017-18, Mikle Gordon (Duke Energy)

2019-    , Kathy Judkins (SECO Energy)


Outstanding Chapter of the Year Awards: 2006, 2007, 2008


National Conventions: Orlando, Florida 2009


Local Chapter Scholarships Awarded: ($18,000 to 20 students)


Other Information:

Inaugural chapter meeting, November 2000;

Hosted first community energy policy forum 2004

Incorporated as Florida non-profit, July 2004

Hosted Florida Public Service Commissioner 2006

Received IRS tax exempt Letter of Determination June 2006

Awarded Chapter’s Distinguished Service award to the following:

2001, Honorable John Marks, Mayor Tallahassee, FL

2007, Bob Hill, former President AABE

2007, Rodney Gaddy, Duke Energy (formerly Progress Energy)



2010, Mikle Lewis, Duke Energy (formerly Progress Energy)

2011, Arto Woodley, Frontline Outreach




Terms of Use   |   © Copyright 2022 American Association of Blacks in Energy. Site by Filnet.