About Us

The Gulf Coast Chapter of AABE® was founded on September 11, 2004 under the leadership of Daryl E. Brown of Mississippi Power. The chapter was recognized officially in April 2005 at the 28th Annual AABE National Conference in Memphis, Tennessee. It is one of eleven chapters in the Southeast Region of the organization.

The Gulf Coast Chapter has grown to provide opportunities for leadership and community service within the coastal regions of Alabama, Florida and Mississippi. The chapter delivers vital energy information to the community, awards scholarships to high school graduates pursuing energy careers, mentors youth and provides professional development opportunities to its membership.


Past Presidents

Daryl Brown, Mississippi Power (2004 – 2006)

Cyla Clark, Mississippi Power (2007 – 2008)

Antonio Terry, Gulf Power (2009 – 2010)

Lennon Brown, III, Mississippi Power (2010 – 2011)

Frank Magee, Mississippi Power (2012 – 2014)

Eric Pickett, Gulf Power (2015 – 2016)


Current President

Kenneth Means, Mississippi Power (2017 – 2018)



Outstanding Chapter of the Year

(2005, 2006, 2007 & 2008)



Terms of Use   |   © Copyright 2018 American Association of Blacks in Energy. Site by Filnet.