California Chapter History

The Southern California Chapter of American Association of Blacks in Energy®, chartered December 9, 2000, was previously known as the Los Angeles Chapter. The Chapter has expanded its geographical areas to include south of Fresno, California in the north, the Pacific Ocean on the west, to the borders of Arizona, Nevada and Mexico. The Southern California Chapter has received four consecutive "Chapter of the Year" Awards since 2004. In 2013, California merged all chapters into one, California Chapter.
Past Presidents (2000 to Present):
  • Chuck Pulliam (Sempra Utilities - retired) 2004 - 2007
  • Afarah Board (Southern California Edison) 2008 - 2009
  • David Ford (Southern California Edison) 2009-2012
  • Victor Baker (Pacific Gas & Electric Company) 2013-Present
National Board Members from California:
  • Rufus McKinney (Southern California Gas - retired) AABE National Chairman (1980-1982)
  • Gilbert Ivey (Metropolitan Water District of Southern California) AABE Board of Directors
  • Berlinda Fontenot-Jamerson (Southern California Gas) AABE Board of Directors
  • Lisa Cagnolatti (Southern California Edison)
  • Deidre Sanders (Pacific Gas & Electric Company)
AABE National Awards from Southern California:
  • Owen Davis (Pacific Gas & Electric) James E. Stewart Award 1988
  • Rufus McKinney (Southern California Gas - retired) James E. Stewart Award 1990
  • Berlinda Fontenot-Jamerson (Southern California Gas) Clarke Watson Chairman's Cup 1993
  • Outstanding Chapter of the Year (2004 - 2008)
Past National Conferences in California:
  • 9th National Conference - Los Angeles (1986) 
  • 13th National Conference - Oakland (1990)
  • 22nd National Conference - Los Angeles (1999)
  • 35th National Conference - Long Beach (2012)
Terms of Use   |   © Copyright 2018 American Association of Blacks in Energy. Site by Filnet.