AABE Scholarship Program

September 25, 2009




To download an application, please visit the local chapter site closest to where the applicant resides. The applications can be found on the bottom of the chapter homepage in the "LATEST NEWS" section. For a complete list of chapters across the country, please select "CHAPTERS." Some states have more than one Chapter and some Chapters occupy more than one state. In certain cases, the applicant can qualify for both a local and/or national scholarship. Contact information, instructions, guidelines and eligibility criteria are provided in the application package.

The  National Premier and Regional winners are selected by the AABE National Scholarship Committee consisting of a representative from each of the 6 AABE regions. The names and email addresses of the regional representatives on the National Scholarship Committee are listed below.

After a rigorous scoring process, the National and Regional scholarship award winners are selected as the best of all of the nationwide applicants for AABE Scholarships.

National awards are presented at the Annual AABE National Conference. 

Once scholarship winners are identified, mentors from the AABE local chapter are assigned to these students to formally begin the process of tracking these students to provide summer, part-time and ultimately full time employment in energy companies (“Building the Pipeline”). AABE Local chapters can use the attached Mentoring Program template to establish a mentoring program for scholarship award winners, and also use the attached Student Chapter Development template to establish Student Chapters at local colleges or universities.

Also attached is a copy of the AABE National Scholarship Committee report which documents the scholarship award recipients and mentors for 2008. A similar report will be developed at year-end 2009.

Attachment 1: AABE National Scholarship Committee Report 2008

Attachment 2: AABE SSPP Program Guidelines (Questionnaire) (Mentoring Program Questionnaire)

Attachment 3: AABE MI Chapter Partners Program (Mentoring Program Template)

Attachment 4: AABE Student Chapter By-Laws (Student Chapter Development Template)

AABE National Scholarship Committee Members


Committee Chair
Committee Co-Chair
Committee Co-Chair
Gerald Dawes
Sheila Patterson
John Skipper
Con Edison Company of New York
CMS Energy
Con Edison Company of New York
1. Northeast Region
4. Southeast Region
John Skipper
Jennefer Whisenhunt
Con Edison Company of New York
Southern Natural Gas Co. - Cust. Service
2. Mid-Atlantic Region
5. Southwest Region
Dianne P. Oliver
Terrence Griffin
Pepco Holdings, Inc.
Entergy Services, Inc.
3. Mid-West Region
6. Western Region
Sheila Patterson
Sonya Baskerville
CMS Energy
Bonneville Power Administration


Aaron Johnson

Terms of Use   |   © Copyright 2021 American Association of Blacks in Energy. Site by Filnet.