AABE Awards

AABE James E. Stewart Awards

The James E. Stewart (JES) Award is the American Association of Blacks in Energy's highest level of recognition and is bestowed upon the member selected as an individual who is a distinguished high achiever in the energy field, as well as, demonstrating outstanding leadership within the AABE organization and the community.

JES Award winners exemplify a superior commitment to the goals of the AABE organization through their high level of contribution to its growth and their involvement in the development and execution of its policies, programs and activities. Read James E. Stewart's biography by clicking here.


Past JES Awardees (1987-2022)

1987 – James E. Stewart, Oklahoma Natural Gas Company (Oklahoma Chapter)
1988 – Owen Davis (posthumously), Pacific Gas & Electric Company (Southern California)
1989 – John Tucker, American Gas Association (Atlanta)
1990 – Rufus McKinney, Southern California Gas Company (Retired) (Southern California)
1991 -  Thomas Hart, Sr. Westinghouse Corporation (Retired) (Pittsburgh)
1992 – Horace Edwards, Arco Pipeline Company (Retired) (Houston)
1993 – Robert Bates, Jr., Mobil Oil Company (Retired) (DC)
1994 – Hazel Rollins O’Leary, Secretary, U.S. Department of Energy (Retired) (DC)
1995 – Mary Boyd-Foy, Ebasco Services (Retired) (NYMAC)
1996 – W. James Sams, Chevron Corporation (Retired) (Northern California)
1997 – Erskine E. Cade, BP America, Inc. (Cleveland)
1998 – James K. Davis, Georgia Power Company (Atlanta)
1999 – Clarke Watson, Watson Associates (Denver)
2000 – Herman S. “Woody” Dorsey, Consolidated Edison Company (Retired) (NYMAC)
2001 – Daniel F. Packer, Entergy New Orleans (Retired) (Louisiana)
2002 – David K. Owens, Edison Electric Institute (DC)
2003 – Rufus Gladney, Consumers Energy (Michigan)
2004 – Erroll B. Davis, Jr., Alliant Energy (Wisconsin)
2005 – Frank Johnson, Consumers Energy (Michigan)
2006 – Vicky Bailey, FERC/Anderson Stratton Int’l (DC/Pittsburgh)
2007 – Hilda Pinnix-Ragland, Progress Energy (North Carolina)
2008 – Barrett Hatches, Swope Community Enterprises (Indiana)
2009 – Wilton Cedeno, Con Edison (NYMAC) 
2010 - Warren M. Washington, NCAR
2011 - Carolyn Green, EnerGreen Capital (Philadelphia)
2012 - Warner Williams, Chevron (Louisiana)
2013 - Dr. Isaac Crumbly, Fort Valley State University
2014 - Frank Stewart, F.M. Stewart & Associates (Denver)
2022 - Paula R. Glover (National)
Clarke A. Watson (CAW) Chairman's Cup

The Chairman's Cup was established in 1993 and in recognition for outstanding service by an AABE member or staff person who has been selected by the Chair as one who has distinguished themselves to the organization in promoting its growth, vitality and enhancing its mission as a resource for energy policy making. The award was renamed the Clarke A. Watson Chairman's Cup in 2004, in recognition of our Founder who was always on hand to remind us of our mission and the importance of the organization's work. Read Clarke Watson's biography by clicking here.
Past CAW Chairman's Cup Awardees (1993-2010)

1993 - Berlinda Fontenot-Jamerson, Southern California Gas (Southern California Chapter)

1994 - Leandra Abbott, Con Edison (NYMAC)
1995 - Charles Hamiltion, Brooklyn Union Gas (NYMAC)
1996 - Tom Walker, Chevron (Atlanta)
1997 - Polly S. Rosemond, Entergy-New Orleans (Louisiana)
1998 - Rufus D. Gladney, Consumers Energy (Michigan)
1999 - Cheryl Abney, PECO Energy (Philadelphia)
2000 - Hilda Pinnix-Ragland, Progress Energy (North Carolina)
2001 - Robert E. Love, Consumers Energy (Michigan)
2002 - Carolyn Green, Sunoco (Philadelphia)
2003 - Charles Tinker, Detroit Edison (Michigan)
2004 - Paula Jackson, United Illuminating (Connecticut)
2005 - Syl Morgan-Smith, National Renewable Energy Laboratories (Denver)
2006 - Paul White, National Renewable Energy Laboratories (Denver)
2007 - Gilda Joseph, Chevron (Houston)
2008 - David Owens, Edison Electric Institute (Washington, DC Metropolitan Area)
2009 - Wayne Young, Honeywell (Atlanta)
2010 - LaDoris (Dot) Harris, GE Energy (Atlanta)
2011 – Frank Stewart, AABE (Denver)
2012 – Joyce Hayes Giles, DTE Energy (Michigan)

2013 - George Williams, PMI Energy Solutions (Chicago)

2014 - Corlene Williams (Birmingham)

2022 - Marie Knox (Arkansas)

Entrepreneur of the Year
2009 - Steve Hightower, Hightower Petroleum
010 - Llewelyn Rhone, Geneva Pipeline
2011 – Robert Wallace, BITHENERGY

2012 - Lonnie Johnson

2013 - Patricia Watts, FCI Management

2014 - Dwayne Barlow & George Williams, PMI Energy Solutions
2022 - Carla Walker Miller, Walker-Miller Energy Services

Corporate Partner of the Year
2011 – Southern California Edison

Outstanding Chapters of the Year - Various Chapters were awarded this honor from 2000 to 2009. Please click on Chapter websites to view when they received this acknowledgement.

Terms of Use   |   © Copyright 2024 American Association of Blacks in Energy. Site by Filnet.